NOTICE OF FILING FOR THE 2024 STATE GENERAL ELECTION HOUSTON COUNTY, MINNESOTA

Notice is hereby given as provided in Minnesota Statute 204B.33 that a General Election will be held in Houston County on Tuesday, November 5, 2024, for the purpose of electing candidates for the offices listed below. The filing period for United States Representative, State Senator, State Representative, Governor and Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, State Auditor, Attorney General, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Judge of the Minnesota Court of Appeals, and Judge of the District Court begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday May 21, 2024, and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 4, 2024.

The filing period for presidential elector candidates begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday May 21, 2024 and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, August 20, 2024, for non-major political party candidates and independent candidates. The certification deadline for major political party presidential elector candidates is August 27, 2024.

Note: Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 27, 2024, in observance of Memorial Day. For presidential elector candidates, filing offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, in observance of the Juneteenth Holiday and Thursday, July 4, 2024, in observance of Independence Day.

The place of filing for federal offices is the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Veterans Services Building, 20 West 12th Street, St. Paul, MN 55155. The place of filing for state offices is with the Office of the Secretary of State or with the county auditor of the county in which the candidate resides.

Candidates may file in person or by mail if the filing is received during the filing period. Candidates who will be absent from the state during the filing period and meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes section 204B.09, subdivision 1a, may arrange to file during the seven days immediately preceding the candidate's absence from the state.

This notice is sent based on current law. Be aware that the Legislature and/or Governor could make changes that affect some of these processes.

This notice is provided pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 204B.33.

FEDERAL OFFICES

Ten United States Presidential Electors
One United States Senator
One United States Representative District #1

STATE OFFICES

One State Representative District #26B

JUDICIAL OFFICES

Candidates for judicial office may file either with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State or with the county auditor in the county where the candidate resides. A candidate filing for one of the Minnesota Court of Appeals seats that has been designated for one of the congressional districts must be a resident of that congressional district.

Supreme Court (Three Seats)

One Chief Justice (Incumbent Natalie E. Hudson)

One Associate Justice for Seat 5 (Incumbent Anne K. McKeig)

One Associate Justice for Seat 6 (Incumbent Kerl Procaccini)

Court of Appeals (Seven seats)

Appellate offices are elected statewide. Where designated, candidates must reside in the congressional district listed for at least one year.

One Court of Appeals Judge for Seat 2 (Incumbent Jonathan P. Schmidt)

One Court of Appeals Judge for Seat 3 for 2nd Congressional District (Incumbent Sarah Wheelock)

One Court of Appeals Judge for Seat 4 (Incumbent Tracy M. Smith)

One Court of Appeals Judge for Seat 6 for 1st Congressional District (Incumbent Renee L. Worke)

One Court of Appeals Judge for Seat 8 (Incumbent Keala C. Ede)

One Court of Appeals Judge for Seat 12 (Incumbent Diane B. Bratvold)

One Court of Appeals Judge for Seat 14 for 8th Congressional District (Incumbent Elise L. Larson)

District Courts (Ten Seats)

Third Judicial District Counties: Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Winona

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 1 (Incumbent Christina K. Stevens)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 3 (Incumbent Christy Hormann)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 5 (Incumbent Ross L. Leuning)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 8 (Incumbent Carol M. Hanks)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 10 (Incumbent Lisa R. Hayne)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 12 (Incumbent Christine A. Long)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 14 (Incumbent Natalie S. Martinez)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 19 (Incumbent Jeremy L. Clinefelter)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 20 (Incumbent Debra A. Groehler)

One Third District Court Judge for Seat 24 (Incumbent Christa M. Daily)

COUNTY OFFICES

The filing period for the offices listed below begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21, 2024, and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 4, 2024. Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 30, 2024, in observance of Memorial Day, Wednesday, June 19, 2024, in observance of the Juneteenth Holiday and Thursday, July 4, 2024, in observance of Independence Day.

The place of filing is the Houston County Auditor-Treasurer's Office, 304 S. Marshall St., Caledonia, MN 55921.

One County Commissioner District #1

One County Commissioner District #3

One County Commissioner District #5

One Supervisor Soil & Water District #3

One Supervisor Soil & Water District #4

One Supervisor Soil & Water District #5

The filing fee for the above-mentioned offices are:
U.S. Senator - \$400
U.S. Representative - \$300
State Senator & Representative - \$100.00
Judicial Offices - \$300.00
County Offices - \$50.00
Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor - \$20.00

Information regarding these filings is available from the Houston County Auditor-Treasurer at 507-725-5803.

Polly Heberlein

Houston County Interim Auditor-Treasurer

Houston County Minnesota

COMMISSIONER DISTRICTS

1st District

La Crescent City - 1st Precinct La Crescent City - 2nd Precinct

2nd District

Houston Township
Houston City
Money Creek Township
Mound Prairie Township
Sheldon Township
Union Township
Yucatan Township

3rd District

Caledonia City - 1st Precinct Caledonia City - 2nd Precinct Caledonia Township

4th District

Brownsville City
Brownsville Township
Hokah City
Hokah Township
La Crescent City - 3rd Precinct
La Crescent Township

5th District

Black Hammer Township Crooked Creek Township Eitzen City Jefferson Township Mayville Township Spring Grove City Spring Grove Township Wilmington Township Winnebago Township